top of page

Seven Chakras and their influence on human body.

Updated: Sep 15, 2022

According to ancient Indian scriptures, the seven sacred chakras are considered as an integral spiritual part of a human body and are responsible to maintain the flow of energies. The word 'chakra' comes from the Sanskrit root 'dhav,' which means 'to spin.' Therefore, the word 'chakra' refers to something with a whirring, spinning quality or simply refers as the "Wheel of Life". In addition to their spiritual and therapeutic applications, the chakras are also connected to our physical wellbeing. The chakras are seven primary energy centers that are located along an imaginary channel along the body's length. Each chakra is located at the base of the spine. Each chakra is also associated with a sense organ, which is why there are seven chakras in total. The three major functions of the chakras are to connect us to our spiritual nature, to purify our bodies and to calm our minds.

These seven chakras are in the form of a lotus, with each having different shapes, colors, mantras, planets/celestial bodies and elements. Each petal of these spiritual lotuses has their own mantra assigned to it. These mantras are pronounced to activate chakras. The importance of sound and vibrations is emphasised in the Vedic scriptures.

Seven Chakra Meditation - Pracheen Yoga

Every human, in every stage of life, will always have choices, and with each choice we make, we create a new timeline that defines our journey to our future. The chakras are located in regions associated with our ego and are deeply connected with our nature. These connections between our physicality and our spiritual nature can help us understand ourselves better and choose which behaviours best suit us.